AMI Profile

This post is also available in: English Nederlands Italiano Deutsch Français Español




AMI was founded in Santiago de Compostela in Spain in 1965, by Catholic military personnel of 10 countries. They felt the need for a means of disseminating and putting into practice the ideals of Catholic military personnel both in the armed forces and in public life, encouraging all those devoted to serving their homeland and doing their duty in a manner that will truly help to bring peace. AMI is officially recognized by the Holy See through Dicastery for Laity, Family and Life as an association of faithful members of the Forum of Catholic Inspired NGO’s.


The purposes of AMI, based also on its NGO status, are: to promote at the national and international level the affirmation of a Christian vision of military life and of the values that characterize this vision; to promote and support international understanding and cooperation, as a contribution to strengthening peace; to study together, in the light of the Gospel and the teachings of the Church, the spiritual, moral and social problems peculiar to the military sphere. AMI pursues these aims by organizing international meetings and events, such as congresses and pilgrimages, by constantly circulating ideas and experiences among the member associations, and by cooperating with other institutions working in the cause of peace. For more info on our present initiatives, please refer to AMI Vision Paper.


AMI is a lay organization, governed by the General Assembly of delegates (AMI Statute) made up of the Executive Committee (EC) and the delegates of 18 full members, 3 open memberships and 19 friends associated from 4 different continents. For more info on AMI please have a look at “AMI one-page“.


Full members

* Germany
* Austria
* Belgium
* The Netherlands
* France
* Great Britain
* Spain
* Portugal
* Italy
* Croatia
* Nigeria
* Kenya
* Ghana
* Colombia
* Philippines
* Slovakia
* Slovenia

Friends / Associated

* Switzerland
* Estonia
* Latvia
* Romania
* Dominican Republic
* South Korea
* Norway
* Denmark
* Sweden
* Canada
* Indonesia
* Czech Republic
* Hungary
* Poland
* Ukraine
* Peru
* Chile
* Argentina

* South Africa

* The Gambia

Still open membership:

* Lithuania
* Bosnia